Archiving and restoring projects

Not all users in Freckle are allowed to archive and restore projects. If you can't, please ask a leader or supervisor to do it for you. Learn about permissions in Freckle.

Is your project list getting a bit cluttered? Do you want to clear out the projects you've finished? If you want your old projects not to clutter your Freckle account, but you don’t really want to delete them, we have a better option for you. You can archive any project with one click. Then, if you made a mistake or changed your mind, you can always get it back.

Archived projects are like little time capsules. They're read-only and locked from any changes: no one can log time for or change entries, expenses or invoices of an archived project. However, you can still view and run reports on them.

Archiving Projects is easy. How easy? It literally just takes one click from your list of projects.

  1. Click the Projects tab in the green navigation sidebar.
  2. Mouse over the project you want to archive, and click the archive button.

That's all it takes! You can also archive your project from the individual project page.

  1. Click on the project you want to archive from anywhere in Freckle.
  2. Then click on the archive button in the upper right hand corner.

Viewing archived projects

Even after you've archived a project, you can still view it at any time:

  1. Click the Projects tab in the green navigation sidebar.
  2. Click on archived in the filter bar to show only your archived projects.

You can see the details of any archived project by clicking its name.

Running reports including archived projects

Your archived projects will show up in the project selector when running reports, with a little archived icon. You can run reports over archived projects just like with any other project.

Restoring archived projects

It's easy to bring an archived project back to life:

  1. Click the Projects tab in the green navigation sidebar.
  2. Click on archived in the filter bar to show only your archived projects.
  3. Hover over any project and click the unarchive button.

That's it! Just like with archiving, you can also unarchive a project directly from the project page.